History of Humberside

Humberside as a county did not exist before 1974 when it was set up on April 1st under the Local Government Act of 1972. The county was set up to bring together various areas in the north east of England on either side of the River Humber.

These areas were originally in the county boroughs of Kingston upon Hull and Grimsby and in the boroughs of Lindsey (Cleethorpes, Barton-upon Humber, Brigg, Glanford Brigg, the Isle of Axholme and Scunthorpe), the East Riding (Beverley, Bridlington, Hedon, Driffield, Haltemprice, Hornsea, Withernsea, Holderness, Howden and Pocklington) and the West Riding (Goole).

The headquarters of Humberside was located in the market town of Beverley. The county itself was then divided into nine districts comprising:

Residents in many of the areas incorporated into Humberside were unhappy at the change in county name and organisation and many felt that it was not worth losing the identity and names of their own former counties. This led to much lobbying to change back to the old system. In the end, on April 1st 1996, Humberside as a county was broken up again and although the name survives the county itself does not. The areas that made up Humberside were then changed to: